A place to grow…

IMG_2172_1 (1)
This is the first of what I hope to be many posts. I want to create a space where I can create, share, fail, grow and become a better photographer. This will be a space where you can help me on this journey. I have several goals in starting this blog. Most importantly, I simply want to get better. I will shoot many things initially, but I hope to narrow my focus and discover my photography niche. Another goal is to get my camera out more, take it with me everywhere, and create great photos. The photos posted here will not be my best shots, but hopefully what is learned here will help me make better photographs in the future. I have put this off for far too long. Now is the time to let go of the perfectionism and the “I can’t do this” that prevents me from doing so many things. So… Share… Comment… Critique… but be nice!

So in this photo, had I been behind the camera and not taking a photo with two impatient, boisterous boys,  I would have tried to create a more shallow depth of field (mental note for next time). Also, I would pay more attention to where we were standing. I would make sure trees were not growing up out of our heads ;). What else would you change…tweak…?

One thought on “A place to grow…

  1. Jamie
    I have loved your photography as long as I can remember. I’ve never noticed “trees coming out of your heads”. What I’ve noticed is the love you’ve captured in pictures of your family, and the beauty in your photos of our world.
    I am looking forward to seeing many more of your creations. You are a treasure.

Comments